What happens when one of your non-exempt employees works unauthorized overtime—even if you had expressly forbid this person from putting in the extra time? You have to pay them for this forbidden overtime (at overtime rates) anyway! California law clearly states that you must pay hourly workers for all time worked.
Obviously this is not a desirable situation. Here are some ideas for how to stop your employees from working unauthorized overtime:
• Have a strong written overtime policy in place – Your Employee Manual should include a formal policy stating that employees may not punch in early or punch out late without prior written authorization from their supervisor. Back this policy up with strong progressive discipline consequences. Make it clear that continuing to work overtime after being instructed not to can be considered insubordination, and employees who work unauthorized overtime can be written up, suspended or even terminated.
• Keep everyone aware of the policy – Regularly remind your hourly employees and their supervisors that ALL overtime MUST be signed off by the supervisor on the day that it is worked.
• Educate your supervisors – Your supervisors must understand their role in enforcing your overtime policies, as well as the laws stating that non-exempt employees must be paid for all time worked. Once the time has been worked, the supervisor cannot tell the employee not to report it, and cannot refuse to authorize payment for those hours.
• Hold supervisors accountable – Your policy should include disciplinary consequences for supervisors who fail to take action to implement your overtime policies.
• Turn off their computers – If your non-exempt employees require the use of a computer to do their jobs, another option is to have your IT department automatically shut down these employees’ computers at a specific time each day.
• Enforce your policy – Review time sheets daily, and implement your disciplinary procedures in every unauthorized overtime situation.
• Use rounding – A California state appeals court has ruled that a payroll system that automatically rounds workers’ hours either up or down to the nearest quarter-hour is permissible, as long as it “averages out sufficiently.”
Need help reigning in overtime costs? Give me a call. As your part-time CFO I can help you diagnose and address the problem.
Harassment. Discrimination. Wrongful termination. Failure to promote. Infliction of emotional distress. What do all of these things (and more) have in common? They are all situations for which everyone from customers to current, potential and former employees can sue your company.
If you have Employment Practices Liability insurance (EPL), these situations are all covered risks. But if you don’t have Employment Practices Liability insurance, you are essentially “self-insuring,” which can be an enormous mistake. Defending your company against employment practices claims can be so expensive that sometimes just a single EPL lawsuit causes a small business to go under completely.
To understand how expensive these claims can be, let’s look at some real-life examples, as provided by insurance companies:
• Age discrimination – A 62-year old sales rep filed an age discrimination suit after he was fired for not making his sales quotas. The settlement: $540,000.
• Sexual harassment and retaliation – An employee claimed that she faced retaliation after she complained about sexual harassment. Total defense and settlement costs: over $550,000.
• Emotional distress – An employee claimed that derogatory statements were posted by co-workers on an online company bulletin board. After the employer denied responsibility, the employee sued for defamation and emotional distress. Total defense and settlement costs: over $600,000.
• Sexual harassment and retaliation – After being fired for divulging confidential information, an employee filed a retaliation and sexual harassment suit, claiming the CFO’s behavior had been inappropriate for quite some time. Total defense costs: $150,000.
Think that because you’re dedicated to doing things right that this can never happen to you? Think again. One in ten businesses will face an employment practices charge. Which actually seems low given the results of a recent survey, in which 35% of respondents—including 41% of women respondents—stated that they had been harassed at work at some point in their career. 1 Plus, contrary to the #metoo stereotypes, not all harassers are bosses or men. This survey also found that 22% of alleged harassers were women, and 27% were peers.
Two more things to keep in mind: Many employment practices lawsuits are filed by former employees, when it’s too late to put an end to the offending behavior. And even handling unfounded allegations takes time and money.
Prevention, early detection, appropriate responses and proper insurance coverage are all key to dealing with Employment Practices Liability issues.
Need help getting the right insurance coverages in place? Give me a call. As your part-time CFO this is just one of the many services I can provide for you.
California has very stringent guidelines regarding which of your workers are “exempt” or “non-exempt” from overtime wage rules, and getting it wrong can be very costly. One misclassification can trigger multiple wage violations and their associated monetary penalties!
What I’ve seen is that the question of whether salespeople are exempt or non-exempt often trips employers up. Which is no surprise, since the answer is different for “outside salespeople” than it is “inside salespeople”—and the state has specific definitions for each of these categories. Here’s what you need to know…
Most (but not all) inside salespeople are non-exempt
In most situations inside salespeople are entitled to overtime pay. However, inside salespeople who meet all of the following criteria are exempt from overtime pay:
• Work in an industry governed by Wage Order Number 4 or Wage Order Number 7;
• Are primarily engaged in sales;
• Have earnings that exceed 1.5 times the minimum wage for each hour worked during the pay period; and
• Receive more than half of their earnings each pay period from commissions.
Most (but not all) outside salespeople are exempt
In determining if a worker meets the “outside salesperson” exemption, you must look at their actual job duties and not just their job title. This is because California law defines an “outside salesperson” as someone who:
• Is at least 18 years old;
• Spends at least 50% of their time in the field, working away from their employer’s place of business (which can be a home office, company worksite or other designated physical worksite); and
• Spends at least 50% of their time selling products or services, or obtaining orders or contracts for the sale of products or services.
An important thing to be aware of here is that while time spent traveling to and from sales appointments counts as “time spent selling,” time spent doing pretty much anything else, including delivering merchandise that was previously purchased, does not count as time spent selling.
In addition, the “50% in the field” criteria means that if your outside salesperson spends more time sitting at their desk making phone calls than they do going out and meeting with people face-to-face, the state says you must classify them as an inside salesperson. In this case, the “inside salesperson” criteria must be used to determine exempt vs. non-exempt status.
Need help getting these things sorted out? As your part-time CIO, I’m here for you.
Although few companies are aware of it, California has a program dedicated to reimbursing employers for the costs associated with providing job skills training to their employees. In fact, each year California’s Employment Training Panel (ETP) awards millions of dollars to qualifying companies!
The money comes from taxes you are already paying, including the $7 per employee that you, as a California employer, pay into the fund each year.
Here’s what you need to know about ETP funding:
• What types of companies qualify? While a broad spectrum of California employers can qualify, the ETP gives top priority to those in the following industries:
• Biotechnology and Life Sciences|
• Green Technology
• Information Technology Services
• Multimedia and Entertainment
• Nursing and Healthcare
• Transportation Logistics
• Is this available for small businesses? Technically yes, but from a practical standpoint this is best for businesses that have at least 40 employees.
• How much can you get? The answer depends on a variety of factors, but we’re talking real money here! Plus, these awards are actual checks in the mail—not tax credits. For example, June 2018 awards included $1,040 per trainee for a manufacturing company, $1,476 per trainee for a construction company, $1,058 per trainee for an accounting firm and $1,885 per trainee for an engineering services provider.
• What sort of training qualifies? Pretty much anything other than legally-mandated courses. So while it won’t reimburse you for your sexual harassment prevention training class, everything from computer skills and business skills to machinery operation, estimating, scheduling and a whole lot more is eligible.
• Who delivers the training? You’re responsible for the actual training. Either you design and deliver it, or you hire a third party to do so. Basically, this is “free money” to help pay for the training you’re doing anyway.
The bottom line is, ETP funding can be a significant competitive advantage for your firm. The only catch is that, being a government program, there are a lot of hoops to jump through to get the money. Rather than deal with the steep learning curve, though, most companies simply hire specialists to take care of the paperwork for them. As your part-time CFO, I can help you find the right ETP funding specialist for your company’s needs.
Laws and regulations that affect Human Resources are constantly changing, and it’s vitally important that your HR Department keeps up. For example, here in California a number of laws went into effect in 2018. Did you know…
• You cannot ask job applicants about their criminal history – If you have five or more employees it is now against the law to ask job applicants about their criminal records, or seek this information, until after a conditional job offer has been made. After that, if you want to rescind the offer because of the applicant’s conviction history, a specific procedure must be followed.
• You cannot ask job applicants about their salary history – This question is always forbidden, even after you make a conditional job offer. However, if, without any prompting, the applicant volunteers this information, you can use it when setting their starting salary.
• The anti-discrimination laws have been expanded – Effective July 1, California’s rules prohibiting harassment and discrimination based on protected classes, including national origin, have been expanded. Specifically, “national origin” is now very broadly defined to include various actual or perceived characteristics. Click here to learn more. As part of this, “English-only” policies are now forbidden unless narrowly tailored and justified by business necessity—and are never permitted during non-work time, such as breaks.
• You must answer job applicants’ questions about pay scale – Upon “reasonable request” you must provide an applicant for a specific position the pay scale for that position.
• Family Leave Law now affects small businesses – If you have 20 or more employees, you must now allow eligible employees to take up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected parental leave to bond with a new child. On the positive side, if you offer at least two weeks of annual paid family and medical leave to all qualifying employees, you may be eligible for a new tax credit. Click here to learn more.
• The new tax bill affects employee benefits – The deductions for employee entertainment and transportation benefits were eliminated, and the deduction for employee meals was reduced. Also, any money you provide employees to reimburse them for the costs of commuting to work by bicycle is now considered taxable income to the employee. Are you noting this on their payroll stub?
If you have not yet modified your policies, job application forms and Employee Handbooks to account for these changes, now’s the time to do so!
Determining whether a worker is an independent contractor or an employee
has significant consequences. If a worker is classified as an employee
you must pay payroll taxes, provide workers compensation insurance, and
be in compliance with a wide variety of laws governing pay, time off and
other employment-related issues. If the worker is an independent
contractor they’re responsible for these things themselves. And if you
misclassify an “employee” as an “independent contractor” the fines can
In the past the “independent contractor vs employee” issue was based on the amount of control that your business had over the worker, and was determined by answering a long series of questions.
Recently the California Supreme Court established a new three-part test that applies specifically to California’s Wage Orders (i.e. regulations regarding wages, breaks and more). The Court’s stated goal was to narrow independent contractor status to far fewer people. As such, under this new test many workers who are currently classified as independent contractors must be reclassified as employees.
The new “ABC” test
The new test states that a worker is considered an employee under the Wage Orders unless the employer proves that all three of the following are true:
A. The worker is free from the control and direction of the hirer in connection with the performance of the work, both under the contract for the performance of such work and in fact;
B. The worker performs work that is outside the usual course of the hiring entity’s business; and
C.The worker is customarily engaged in an independently established trade, occupation, or business of the same nature as the work performed for the hiring entity.
Applying the new test
How might this apply to your business? Say you run a manufacturing plant, and you sign a service contract with an HVAC (Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning) contractor. That contractor qualifies as an “independent contractor” because they meet all three conditions. You will not be directly supervising their work; you’re not in the HVAC business yourself, and they have their own HVAC business that also services other clients.
However, say you’re the HVAC contractor and you bring on an HVAC technician to help you during the busy summer months. That technician must be classified as an employee. Since you are in the business of providing HVAC services, the work they perform will be within the usual course of your business. Even if they work independently and have their own HVAC business, too, they will not pass criteria B.
Your business is growing, and week after week you’re finding yourself asking your part-time CFO to put in extra hours. It’s time to make the leap to a full-time CFO! Here are six key things you should look for when hiring for this critically-important role:
Industry expertise – While a good CFO’s skill set should enable this person to transition from industry to industry, the reality is that many industries have unique needs. Look for someone who either already understands yours, or is willing to take on the challenge of learning all about it.
Education and background – Do they have a CPA? Are they experienced in all or most of the things you will need them to do, or just a subset of this? For example, you may need your CFO to do more than manage the financial aspects of the business; the CFO is often the one who oversees IT and Human Resources as well. Which means you’re looking for someone with a strong enough understanding of these areas to be able to hire and manage the right people…and the energy to do so.
Ability to manage change – In a growing company the CFO is often called upon to help get everyone on board with changes that need to happen, and then manage the change process as it takes place. Look for a CFO who has successfully done this in the past.
Problem solving abilities – Ask the job candidate about their top accomplishments in the past five years. Their answers will likely shed some light on their problem-solving skills, as well as their willingness to tackle new challenges and learn new things.
Soft skills – As with all new hires, excellent communication and interpersonal skills are vital. Once they crunch the numbers, for example, will they be able to communicate useful, actionable information to you based on their findings? Will their management style fit in with your company culture? Will they contribute valuable viewpoints and expertise to the management team?
Computer skills – At most companies, the CFO will need to be current in Microsoft Office products, including Excel, PowerPoint and Word…and how all of this works in the Cloud with Office 365.
The right CFO can make a big difference for your company. Unfortunately, as some of my clients have learned the hard way, the wrong CFO can make a big difference, too—through bad advice, shoddy work or even outright criminal activity, such as embezzlement. The lesson here is you must take the time to find and hire the right person. Don’t just fill the seat!
Big companies often have big staffs and the ability to manage many things in-house. Small businesses and start-ups take advantage of the tremendous value that outsourced professionals bring. For a fraction of the cost of bringing a full-time employee on board you can have a highly experienced expert on your team.
Who should you be hiring? What I’ve seen is that most small- to medium-sized companies benefit from the services of the following:
• Business Transaction Attorney – Your business transaction attorney can help you form a corporate entity, and then ensure that this entity remains in compliance with board minutes, state filings, etc. on an on-going basis. Your attorney can also provide advice on day-to-day legal matters, such as contracts and regulatory compliance. When it comes to contracts, keep in mind that if their attorney wrote it, it’s written in their best interests…not yours.
• Tax Accountant – Look for an experienced CPA who is familiar with your industry. Your tax accountant will provide tax planning and services, and be available to help you with special projects as they arise.
• Insurance Broker – A good insurance broker will start by spending the time necessary to really understand your business and then create an appropriate risk mitigation plan for you. Your broker can obtain quotes from reputable carriers that understand your industry, and help you take advantage of the carrier’s safety programs and discounts for best practices.
• Banker – Unless you have so much capital that cash flow is not an issue, your banker can be your business’ lifeline to both fixed term and revolving working capital loans. A banker will also tailor your banking services to your company’s needs, such as by providing remote check deposit services, zero balance accounts, and more.
Like the other professionals on your outsourced team, a good banker will take the time to know your business and its CEO and Senior Management Team. This enables your banker to tailor your loan covenants in a way that will help your business grow.
• Part-Time CFO – Much more than “just” a “numbers person,” a CFO is a business person with many skills. Long before you have the need for a full-time CFO, you can bring in a part-timer (like me!) and start reaping the benefits of a CFO’s expertise.
Your part-time CFO can help you develop a strategic plan, review your finances to help you understand if you’re adding value to your company, identify and eliminate wasteful spending, and much more. This person can even help you assemble the rest of your outsourced team of seasoned pros!
If you’re running a manufacturing or construction firm, it’s important to know whether you’re “winning” or “losing” from a production standpoint. How many units did you produce? How does this compare to your goal?
Ideally you should be tracking this every day. This way if things aren’t going well, you’ve got time to take action before things get too far out of whack.
To track this information, I recommend using a daily key performance indicator (KPI) report card. Distributing this daily gives everyone from top management to your foremen and supervisors a clear understanding of where things stand.
Calculating your KPI goal
Of course, in order to determine your “units produced” KPI goal you need to first understand your fixed and variable costs. Knowing these lets you calculate your break-even point.
Let’s do the math. If, for example, your fixed costs are $400,000/month and your gross profit is 20%/unit, your breakeven point is $2,000,000/month in sales. If your sales price is $200/unit, this translates to 10,000 units per month. On a simple 20-day month, this means your daily production KPI goal is 500 units.
Of course, most people don’t go into business to just break even. Say you want to clear an operating profit of $200,000/month. Now you need to make and sell another 5,000 units/month (250 units/day), which makes your daily production KPI goal 750 units.
Matching your production goals to your workforce (and vice versa)
I believe that for most businesses the best way to approach this KPI is by looking at how many units you want to produce each day given the work force that you have. Why? Because typically most businesses are more successful if they can keep their workforce relatively static, rather than letting it fluctuate wildly based on variable production needs. This lets you avoid going into overtime mode because you don’t have enough people, or end up with the expense of excess capacity.
Yes, reaching the ideal production level per man hours employed can be easier said than done, but it’s certainly a worthy goal. And having a daily KPI report card can help get you there!
Need help getting a daily KPI report card in place? Give me a call. As your part-time CFO, this is one of the many services that I provide.
You’re starting to think about selling your business. Your neighbor’s cousin just sold her company and got eight times EBITDA (earnings before interest, tax, depreciation and amortization) for the sales price. “If eight times EBITDA is the going rate for business sales,” you think to yourself, “count me in!”
Don’t fall into the “rules of thumb” trap
While your neighbor’s cousin may have sold her business based on a “rule of thumb” multiplier, you should not. Each business has its own challenges, and a multiplier applied to someone else’s business may not be appropriate for yours. Plus, the actual value of your business is dependent on a number of factors, not just a multiple of an easily-derived number. Potential buyers will want to look at your cash flow streams for a certain number of years, your operations, industry-specific and broad market factors, and more.
If you rely on anecdotal “rules of thumb” to derive a sales price for your business you’re likely to either leave money on the table or price yourself right out of the market. Hiring an investment bank or business broker to help you with the valuation can be a very good idea.
Don’t wait until the last minute to prepare to exit
Regardless of how you plan to value your business, it will be worth more if you plan ahead. For example, what can you do now to…
• Increase earnings – When you provide potential buyers with historical data, you’ll want the sales and expenses reflected in that data to look good.
Keep in mind that when talking about maximizing profitability, most people generally think that increasing sales volume is the answer. This is not always the case. Sometimes a better approach is to shrink the company. A smaller company can narrow its focus to just providing the services or products that can be sold at the highest gross margins.
• Get your operations in top shape – This includes having strong financial controls and appropriate policies and procedures in place, strengthening your customer base, and more.
• Make yourself less important – You need to have a team that can carry on the business when you’re no longer there. If you are the sole face of the company, few people will want to buy it.
• Retain key employees – A deferred compensation plan can encourage key employees to stick around after a sale.
Need help with any of this? Give me a call! As your part-time CFO I’m here for you.